Political and Administrative Structure

Political and administrative Structures

Zombo District has two counties; Okoro and Ora respectively with 13 Lower Local governments (Sub-Counties) namely Abanga, Atyak, Jangokoro, Kango, Nyapea, Paidha, Paidha Town Council, Warr, Zeu and Zombo Town Council, Athuma, Akaa and Alangi. The LLGs have 68 Parishes/Wards as administrative units with 824 villages.


Administratively, the District is headed by the Chief Administrative Officer who supervises Heads of Departments/sectors. The departments/sectors are Administration, Finance, Statutory Bodies, Production and Marketing, Health, Education and Sports, Works, Water and Sanitation, Natural Resources, Community Based Services, Planning Unit and Internal Audit. The Heads of these departments/sectors report to the Chief Administrative Officer and have departmental staff to supervise.


Sub counties are headed by Subcounty Chiefs/Senior Assistant Secretaries and the two Town Councils are headed by Principal Township Officers/Town Clerks who supervise all the staff in the LLGs under their jurisdiction.


On the political leadership, the Council is the supreme organ of the district and exercises its mandate through the Council meetings and sectoral committee meetings. All proceedings of the council are chaired by the Speaker/Deputy Speaker but the leader of the district is the Chairperson Local Council V. The structure at the district include the Vice Chairperson, the Sectoral Committees over seen by Secretaries as follows; Secretary for Finance, Planning, Administration and Technical Services; Secretary for Production, Environment and Natural resources and Secretary for Gender, Community Development and Social Services.